My reply to a Christian evangelist

Cherryj
antispam: human non-spammer
Designate the number of cents in half a dollar: 50

My reply to a Christian evangelist

Post by Cherryj »

I apologize in advance for my lack of citations; much of what I wrote below barrows shamelessly from uncredited sources. I also apologize in advance for any errors in science; I am not a scientist by training, only by hobby. I wrote the post below in response to a Christian evangelist who suggested using C.S. Lewis' intuitive argument from design as a means of witnessing to atheists:

C.S. Lewis was a brilliant Christian apologist, but many of his arguments are far less than perfect. For example, his famous trilemma argument – Lord, Liar or Lunatic - is logically invalidated by the possibility of “Legend” – what he offers us here is a new form of the fallacy of bifurcation (for example: have you stopped beating your wife yet?). It’s a nice rhetorical argument, but it’s actually an example of a priori reasoning, making it quite unpersuasive to anyone who does not already believe (i.e. presuppose) in Christianity. Hence it is far more effective at assuaging the doubts of believers than it is a useful tool of evangelism. All known cosmological arguments, arguments from design, etc. are similarly weak tools of evangelism because they are all a priori arguments –they presume the existence of a god, and more particularly a highly specific, individual god – “God” - that cannot be inferred from the argument itself.