Student at Uark; fundalmentalist raising.

that guy
antispam: human non-spammer
Designate the number of cents in half a dollar: 50

Student at Uark; fundalmentalist raising.

Post by that guy »

Hey everyone. I'm a freshman at the University of Arkansas. I just moved up here from a tiny town about 2 1/2 hours south of here the week before last. I'm liking college a lot so far.

From what I understand, this group meets the last Saturday of every month at 2 PM in the Fayetteville Public Library. I look forward to attending the meeting next month.

Ok, now to the good stuff:
You see, I was raised my whole life in church. My dad is a preacher of a small church. My mom teaches Sunday School and ministers to young troubled girls at the local detention center. My uncle is an evangelist. Him and my dad have been to Africa several times on mission trips. My younger sister (16) has recently began to speak at youth meetings. My dad, along with other church members, believes that the Earth was literally created in six days, 6000 years ago. They also believe that the end of the world is near, with the second coming of the Christ approaching. To my dad, leaving Christianity is blasphemy of the Holy Spirit.

Well, a few years ago, I began to examine my own beliefs. The problems with the Bible itself had a major part in destroying my faith. I read it. I found contradictions, errors, disturbing violence condoned by God, and all manor of nonsense. I started with the presumption that the Bible was the true word of God. After examining my beliefs, I discovered that I had been wrong. It took me a long time to admit this to myself.

Eventually, I could no longer honestly call myself a Christian. In fact, I realized that the God concept did nothing to explain reality. So, I am no longer a theist at all. I have not disclosed this to my family yet, for fear of disownment, hatred, or however they might react.